Posted by: hannah jo | February 28, 2011

Hooray for Nancy Pearl!

What are you doing tonight, Monday, Feb. 28? Here’s a fun option (if you’re not stuck at work until 8 p.m., like me). Go to Elliott Bay Books and join the Nancy Pearl celebration!

Elliott Bay Books and Sasquatch Books are honoring Nancy because she recently won two fabulous awards:  she was named “Librarian of the Year” by Library Journal and she is receiving a lifetime achievement award from the Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association.

I think most of our readers know how fond I am of Nancy and how indebted I am to her for helping me get my start as a librarian, and for her support ever since. I am thrilled that she is receiving this well-deserved recognition and am honored to say that I got to play a small role in the awards process. I was approached by the person who nominated Nancy for the Library Journal award to write a letter of recommendation, so I did, of course. It was fun to write and truly satisfying to recount the many ways in which Nancy has spread the great word about reading, not just in the U.S., but all over the world. She has been a tremendous ambassador for books and reading and librarianship. And she still is, every single day!

Hannah (holding Misha's baby, E), Misha, and Nancy at Nancy's birthday party

The festivities start at 6 p.m. tonight and include wine and appetizers and a brief talk by Ms. Pearl. You should go (and tell her I said “YAY!”).

Leave a Reply

Categories

