Posted by: loripalooza | January 23, 2011

Lori’s Top 10 to 15 Books of 2010

I was very clever this year and kept a list of all the books I read, though I did start on the last page of a blank book and went backwards, so looking at it chronologically was a bit warped.  Of the 60 books I read I narrowed the list down to 15 using a rating system of  smiley faces clumsily drawn in by the title (the only way I can draw), and still don’t know which ones I’m going to brutally hack off.  Does it get the axe if it was on someone else’s list from last year, if it was just so massively popular I shrink from putting it out there because I like to think of myself as a non-conformist even though I know I am not in many ways whether I like it or not, if it was so silly that I’m embarrassed?  Or take the easy way out and re-title the post to Lori’s Top 15 Books of 2010? Let’s see what happens. Alphabetically:

Beat the Reaper by Josh Bazell

The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee Bender

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

The Power of One by Bryce Courtenay

The Passage by Justin Cronin

A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan

The Keep by Jennifer Egan

Zeitoun by Dave Eggers

Freedom by Jonathan Franzen

Mennonite in a Little Black Dress by Rhoda Janzen

The Girl Who Played with Fire by  Stieg Larrson

Just Kids by Patti Smith

The Help by Kathryn Stockett

This is Where I Leave You by Jonathan Tropper

Well!  My favorite decision-making tactic:  when in doubt, do it all!  Though I did cut one out, because I pumped myself up to a state of ruthlessness for about 2 seconds.  Two books I did not finish this year were  The Towers of Trebizond by Rose Macaulay, which maybe I just wasn’t in the mood for,  and one I not only did not finish, but removed from my shelf and sold — the very disappointing, fidget-making, producer of many heavy exasperated sighs, Beatrice and Virgil by Yann Martel.  That one gets a frowny-face in bold in my book.

Responses

  1. Great list, Lori! A few of those are on my list, too, you know, the one in my head that I haven’t typed up yet. A few are probably on Andy’s list, too, because he read The Hunger Games, Beat the Reaper, and The Passage, but I didn’t. I will try to reconstruct what I read last year and create my own list of favorites soon. I’ve done it for the past several years, so it would be a shame to drop that tradition this year. I’ve already read a few great books this year, though, and they’re interfering with my memory of last year’s reading!


Leave a Reply

Categories

