Posted by: hannah jo | January 1, 2011

Happy New Year!

See, new year, new dedication to our blog. I’m batting 1000 for 2011. Woo hoo!

I have so many things to tell you, internet, as I think about 2010 and lessons learned. It would be way too easy to list the many, many ways 2010 blew chunks (right up to the end, damn it, when Lily heard from a friend at 11 p.m. tonight that the mother of one of her elementary school friends died of breast cancer today and then her friend’s dad had a heart attack and is in the hospital now — incredibly tragic news). So, instead of dwelling on all of the horrible crap that happened, I will tell you about some stuff that happened during 2010 that I neglected to mention here (in my very few posts). I might even reiterate stuff that I did mention here, but only because that stuff is worthy of repeating.

Number 1: Andy gave me this book for Christmas. Yay! Thank you!

Number 2: Lily turned 13. It’s exciting to have a teenager in the house. She’s even more complicated than before and endlessly lovely. Lori and Joe were exceptionally generous and let Lily have her birthday party at their house. Their house and yard are bigger than ours and much more fun (duh). Lily invited a dozen school friends to her party and her vision of how her party should flow was perfectly fulfilled, I think. Thank you, again, Lori and Joe, for making that possible.

Number 3: Lily and I went on an overnight trip to Great Wolf Lodge with Lily’s “little brother” Nick. They had a blast and I finally warmed up to it on the second day. I didn’t get it at first. But, then, with help from Lily and Nick, I adjusted my attitude about the Disney-like feel of the place and figured out what was fun about it and enjoyed myself.

Number 4: I just have to say one more time how wonderful it was to spend time with my sister during our trip to Illinois. I wish we lived closer to each other.

Number 5: I finally fixed our computer after almost four months of doing without it. It was hanging any time we tried to connect to the internet or print, etc., and I was ready last month to take it to an expensive nerd to fix it because Andy and I failed. I told my dear friend Mike about how I was giving in and he encouraged me to try again. And, you know what, it worked! I tried a different approach, followed some steps I got from a couple of Microsoft technical documents and got it running again without any problems. Thank you, Mike, for your shot of encouragement right when I needed it.

Number 6: My friend Kenneth and I celebrated our 30-year anniversary of friendship. Can you even believe that?! Neither of us looks old enough to have met in college 30 years ago (right?!), but we did. Lori met him first and introduced me. We all volunteered at the college radio station and then Kenneth and I had some classes together. I was always so impressed by his intelligence, humor, and slightly slower, more relaxed pace than I was used to, which I attributed to all the reggae music he listened to. Here’s one of my favorite Kenneth stories. Please forgive me if I’ve told it here before. Kenneth left school before I did, for a number of reasons, and got a job working in a pizza joint. I hadn’t seen him for a while and ran into him downtown. We chatted and he joked about how he was so broke that he had only the coins in his pocket. He took them out and then threw them all up onto the roof of a nearby building. “There,” he said. It was one of those pivotal moments when you realize that some people are so much better equipped to just deal than others. I envied his freedom to not care about his financial situation and I loved how funny that act was. Like Mike, he’s a true blue steadfast friend that I know I can count on no matter what. I don’t deserve either of them, of course, but am thankful every day for their friendship.

Number 7: I made a bunch of mix CDs. Sounds stupid, I know, but, believe me, they help keep me sane and bring me immense joy.

Number 8: I got to see Lori and Joe’s band perform three different times. I’m still stunned and in awe. I can’t imagine being able to do anything like that, ever. The moment when they launched into “Because the Night” for the first time in public is one of the top moments of 2010 for me.

I know I will think of more and I will try to share them here. Thank you, everyone, for everything. I sincerely hope that 2011 is a good year for all of us. I’m looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

