Posted by: hannah jo | November 19, 2010

Head full of glitter

I picked up a new book the other day and now my head is full of glitter. It’s a book about glam rock, which I never tire of. It’s not newly published. It’s just new to me because I bought a used copy (in excellent condition!) at Third Place Books. I love reading, over and over again, about David Bowie’s evolution and his friendly rivalry with Marc Bolan of T Rex. One of my favorite photos in the book is of Bowie, Iggy Pop, and Lou Reed with their arms around each other in 1972. Iggy Pop is wearing a T Rex shirt. BAM! That’s all I need right there. David, Iggy, Lou, and Marc. Okay, maybe not all, but pretty close.

I told Misha today that I love it when my rock idols turn into my literary idols. You’ve no doubt heard by now that Patti Smith won the National Book Award for Nonfiction for Just Kids. Hallelujah! Did you know she was on the cover of Publishers Weekly right before that? Look how adorable she is in this photo!

The avalanche of year-end best books lists has begun. It’s going to be hard to create my own list of favorites this year because I stopped keeping track of my reading when I started my writing project (you know, the one that describes lots of books, ironically enough). I haven’t updated my Goodreads account in many months. It’s one of those things that I keep thinking I’ll get to one of these days. HA! Reading the year-end best books lists, though, has helped me recall a number of excellent books I read this past year because many of them are on those lists.

Have you ever read any books by Daniel Handler? I haven’t, except when he was writing as Lemony Snicket. I was so blown away by his recent Seattle Arts & Lectures appearance that I’m going to have to at least give him a try. He was amazingly funny. Irony squared. I loved him. I am sorry to say, however, that my dear Sherman Alexie did not shine that evening. He was okay, but Daniel Handler was OUTSTANDING. Sorry, Sherman. I still love you, I promise.

Here’s another rock idol whose book I will be reading soon. In fact, I think his new book, Life, is waiting for me at the library right now! So, after the glitter, my head will be full of RAWK!

Responses

  1. http://bookgroupbuzz.booklistonline.com/2010/11/20/national-book-award-winner-just-kids/#respond

  2. I remember seeing that pic of Bowie and Mick Ronson when I was a kid and finding it very disconcerting. At the time I was into 3 Dog Night and The Carpenters so it was a little out of my comfort zone. Check out the new book on Max’s Kansas City when you get a chance. Lots of cool photos.

  3. I used to keep Marc Bolan’s picture on my desksince I was 18… Best parties in my university years are associated with “dirty and sweet” in large part maybe we were used as slaves at the immense cotton plantations of the Soviet government… Water was scarce, but music we had… Still worship him…

  4. Keith!! Looks a lot like that pin I used to wear in college. Joe would not let me buy Life the other day – apparently too close to Christmas, but I rebelled and bought Iggy, Open up and Bleed by Paul Trynka. I haven’t read it yet, but have looked at the pictures. A lot. An awful lot…

    Patti!! Just Kids was so great, and I felt so surprised to relate to Patti so much; I mean she’s so COOL, but like, with stretch marks, too!!! I also loved throwing bits out to Joe about Maplethorpe “he just got a Hasselblad, Joe!”


Leave a Reply

Categories

