Posted by: hannah jo | October 21, 2010

Cheating, again, with the photos

This is my sister-in-law Melissa. I took this photo of her many years ago, before we were related by marriage. We were on a rafting trip with Andy, down the Snake and Salmon Rivers. Melissa visited us last weekend and kindly went to the Seattle Sounders game with us on Friday night. On Sunday, we went on a lovely autumn walk to Sunset Hill Park and rejoiced in the beauty of the day and the knowledge that it’s been 5 years since Melissa was diagnosed with breast cancer. She’s doing well and I’m grateful.

This is Andy and me in a church basement, getting ready for Melissa’s wedding a little more than 13 years ago. I was 7 months pregnant and wearing lipstick. Check out Andy’s hair! That is where Lily’s curly hair comes from, folks.

Another view of the hair, from a long time ago, and Andy’s visit to the land of the giant glasses.

And, speaking of giant glasses, here are mine, from 1977 or ’78 or so. That is the fabled ’68 Firebird, one of the true loves of my life. I cannot overstate how much I loved that car. I bought it when I was 16. I paid 2/3 of the price, my parents kicked in the other 1/3. I have better photos of the car itself, but I love this photo because it sets it perfectly within a specific time: the wing-back bangs that would fall forward as a single unit (thank you, hair spray!) when I leaned over tables that I was wiping down as a waitress at the 24-hour restaurant where I worked the graveyard shift during my high school years; the HOT LIPS t-shirt that Lori gave me as a gift; the ill-fitting jeans during one of my plumper times; the Adidas knock-offs probably purchased for about $5.99 at the Navy Exchange; and a mouth full of braces that I later removed with a pair of pliers because I didn’t want to wear them in my senior photos.

I saved the best for last. We used this photo of Lily on our Christmas cards the year that we took it. I can’t recall if she’s 3 or 4 in this photo, but it makes me happy every time I look at it.

More photos next week, I promise.

Responses

  1. Andy’s hair! 68 Firebird. I can’t pick which is my favorite. We had that photo of Lily on our fridge forever. Good look for her.

  2. Great pictures. I can’t believe you took off your braces with a pair of pliers. That is so punk rock.

  3. I just want to run my fingers through everybody’s hair!


Leave a Reply

Categories

