Posted by: hannah jo | September 28, 2010

Blatant heart on sleeve time

While my colleagues and I reel from the latest news about budget cuts and reorgs and ridiculous notions about running libraries without librarians or branch managers, I retreat to my steady, reliable, faithful loves — books and words.

I shared this link with a friend of mine yesterday and realized I had neglected to share it here. Two of my favorite creations in one link:  Sherman Alexie reads his poem “Ode to Mix Tapes.”

Also, “100 Best First Lines from Novels.” My personal faves are #s 4, 6, 62, and 82. The Samuel Beckett quotes are amazing, but I must confess to having never read the works they begin. I would add, ““We are each the love of someone’s life.” That is the first line from The Confessions of Max Tivoli by Andrew Sean Greer. I remember when Misha shared that line with us when she visited our class way back when I was in library school and it has always stuck with me.

Responses

  1. amen, sister. thanks for spilling it and keeping sane. wish i could have a good cry and hug with you right now.

  2. I’ve had this bookmarked and FINALLY sat down and listened to it. Awesome. I could write 1000 words about making mix tapes. I had a whole system because I didn’t like a lot of empty tape at the end of a side but I didn’t like to have a song that didn’t finish.


Leave a Reply

Categories

