Posted by: hannah jo | September 21, 2010

Whose life is this, anyway?

Do you ever feel like you’ve accidentally woken up in someone else’s life? That the things going on around you don’t make a whole lot of sense? They’re familiar, but not quite right? If so, hello, friend. That’s the boat I’m in right now, too. It’s too long and boring and complicated to explain, but this past summer was probably the worst of my life, and I spent five childhood summers picking strawberries, cucumbers, and raspberries. I can say this now because today is the last day of summer and I am hoping, perhaps stupidly, that tomorrow, when fall arrives, I will magically be in a better, more familiar place. I am eager for summer to be officially over and I will be just fine if the door hits it on its way out. Bye summer. You sucked.

To be fair, some of it was good. That World Cup tournament was highly entertaining (except for the final match). The Sounders always delight me, even when they lose or tie the game. Traveling to New York and Illinois was fabulous. Celebrating Lily’s 13th birthday was wonderful. Seeing Lori’s band play in a bar was spectacular. Hosting our annual neighborhood block party was a kick. But, anything and everything related to work was surreal at best. If you don’t work where I work, you have no idea how whackadoodle it is right now. Nothing makes sense and if you’re there because you madly love your job, your heart is broken on a daily basis.

Let’s see, some other cool stuff from the summer? Seeing Jonathan Franzen at Benaroya Hall last week was pretty ace. I’m reading his new book Freedom right now, very slowly. I can’t handle the thought that I might have to wait another NINE YEARS to read his next novel, so I’m selfishly taking a long time to read my library copy (I was number 2 on the holds list). Can you believe that Oprah chose his book for her book club? OMG. He will sell another 600,000 copies as a result. That’s a lot of books. So far, I think the book is brilliant and deserves to be read by all those people. We’ll see if I still feel the same when I finish.

I don’t really want to go into the non-work-related bad stuff that happened this summer because it’s personal and some of it involves other people and it’s not my place to share their personal stories on the internet. Plus, some of it is still going on, and I’m not sure how things are going to end up. As we all know, I am a bit, ahem, sensitive, so I do have a tendency to take stuff pretty hard, but believe me, I am justified in my upsettedness.

I’m astounded that my daughter is in the 8th grade now. How can that be? She is now a vegan, which is hard to even type without sighing heavily. It’s created a lot of extra work around dinners and eating and shopping and packing school lunches and you name it. I’m trying to be supportive (while remembering how completely put out and, frankly, hostile my family behaved when I became a vegetarian), but I’m concerned about whether she really can be healthy without any dairy or eggs. She’s been home sick with a cold for two days now, which is typical for this time of year because school has been in session for three weeks and all the kids are getting exposed to each other’s germs, but I can’t help hearing a little voice in my head that says, “It sure would be nice if I could feed you a scrambled egg and maybe a yogurt since you have a sore throat.”

Hey, I finished that writing project I was working on. Thank goodness. I have a bit of editing and tweaking to do, but I think (knock on wood) the writing is done. Who knows — the editor could send me an e-mail message tomorrow saying that I blew it and need to do some serious revising, but, for now, I’m calling it done.

Did you see that my pal Nancy has a new book out? It’s called Book Lust to Go and she’ll be at Town Hall in Seattle next Tuesday night, on the 28th, to talk about it. Go! If you like armchair travel books, you have to buy a copy of Book Lust to Go.

I have a million other things to tell you and to figure out via the process of typing here, but I think I’d better go read now. Thank you, Lori, for your many wonderful posts this summer while I was a slacker. I can’t wait to get my hands on that typewriter!

Responses

  1. Congrats on finishing your writing project! I can’t wait to read it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

