Posted by: hannah jo | April 11, 2010

Please forgive me

Believe it or not, I write blog posts in my head ALL THE TIME. I see something that inspires me or find a cool web site or overhear an interesting conversation or have a particularly hilarious interaction with Lily or check out a fabulous new CD from the library and think, “I can’t wait to blog about this.” And, then. I don’t do it.

Please forgive me.

I have been hugely distracted and busy lately, thanks to Lily being on spring break for two weeks (so I’m on vacation for two weeks) and not really catching up yet from being away in Portland. Lily and I have done a bunch of goofing off, which I highly recommend, but that means I’ve neglected a heck of a lot of stuff.

One thing I couldn’t fully avoid, though, was the latest press about my library system, which is negative, yet again, and just made me feel so sad. It’s very hard to be so fully invested in doing a great job and loving my work, but then seeing all of the organization’s dirty laundry getting dragged out for the entire world wide web to see. It’s happened a few times recently and, like I said, it just makes me sad.

There is some good work-related news, though, which helped offset my bad press malaise. In May, I will join our union’s executive board as a shop steward. I know it’ll be hard, but I’m genuinely looking forward to it. A fabulous group of smart and dedicated people were elected to various union positions on Friday night and we had fun celebrating after our general meeting. I know that I am going to learn A LOT.

Hey, I have to run now because I’m very short on sleep and need to get to bed, but here are a few links I’ve been meaning to share. I promise to be back soon, dear readers.

The Millions — Have you seen this site? It’s an online magazine about books, arts, and culture. I found it via Sherman Alexie’s site.

Ten Rules for Writing Fiction (Part 1) — From the Guardian. Lots of fantastic advice from some pretty amazing writers. Here’s Part 2.

Welcome Blaise Nkufo — Did you know that the Seattle Sounders have a new striker who will join the team after the World Cup? I cannot wait to see him play here in Seattle. I am officially in love with him after watching that highlights video (and after seeing new forward Pat Noonan contribute absolutely nothing during their heartbreaking tie game yesterday). I predict that Nkufo is going to light things up!

Responses

  1. Congratulations on the board position, Hannah!!!! Get your boots on and kick some booty!

  2. Don’t feel bad about not getting around to writing. I feel bad enough about not getting around to reading what you write to cover both of us in the “bad feeling” Olympics.

    And thanks to the link for the “Ten Rules for Writing Fiction” page. I saw it once before, but forgot to bookmark it. In fact, it’s already come in handy – based on the advice there, I’ve already edited one “all hell broke loose” out of my manuscript.


Leave a Reply

Categories

