Posted by: loripalooza | January 7, 2010

Lord of the Flies: Boys Gone Wild

Somehow I missed reading this book back when it was requisite in our youth. “You haven’t read Lord of the Flies?!?  Where were you?”  I don’t know, reading Red Badge of Courage, The Grapes of Wrath, The Scarlet Letter, or one of the many other books (all equally as cheery, I’m sure) we were ‘forced’ (ha! Gimme more, teacher, gimme more!) to read in school.  It’s one of those where you feel like you’ve read it because you’ve heard so much about it, although for some reason I thought it involved cannibalism.  Maybe I avoided it because it sounded so dark, which it is, though not as dark as, say, cannibalism.  I bought it a while ago and shelved it thinking I should get to it someday, just so I too could be in the know.  “Someday” turned out to be one of the first days of this new decade.

While I was reading it I kept thinking “Boys Gone Wild.”  My adult self was horrified at their regression, while the girl inside me was all “Those boys are so mean!”  I feel slightly guilty in that as a mother I related very much to the poor sow that gets interrupted feeding her wee piglets and hunted down and so violently killed. I wonder what would have happened if a plane full of school girls crashed.  Of course, these days, all the kids have seen Survivor and might have more practical knowledge on how to keep alive.  Would they form alliances, though?  Would they think they were in fact on a reality TV show and not alone on an island?

Are they still reading these books in school?  Lily, what are you required to read in school nowadays, and why?

Leave a Reply

Categories

