Posted by: loripalooza | December 28, 2009

Lori’s Top 10 Books of 2009

Here’s me, spillin’.  I’ve been staring at my bookshelves pondering and trying to reach into the increasingly older memory bank for what were my favorite books from last year, and this is what I’ve come up with. I know these weren’t all published in 2009, but I read them all this year, or in the case of The Lacuna, am still reading. I do feel like I’m missing something, but these are what surfaced:

The School of Essential Ingredients by Erica Bauermeister

My Life in France by Julia Child

The Glass Books of the Dream Eaters, Volume One by Gordon Dahlquist

The Glass Books of the Dream Eaters, The Dark Volume by Gordon Dahlquist

The Gone-Away World by Nick Harkaway

Juliet, Naked by Nick Hornby

The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver

Border Songs by Jim Lynch

The Financial Lives of the Poets by Jess Walter

A Homemade Life by Molly Wizenberg

Responses

  1. Thank you, Lori! Molly Wizenberg’s book was one of my favorites, too, competing with books like The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, Grunge is Dead, War Dances, and The Arrival for spot #10 on my list.

    • I was considering the Guernsey book, too, but since I read it on Percocet I wasn’t too confident of my fuzzy feelings towards it. Should have put War Dances, but yeah, only 10 spots. Maybe I could have combined The Glass Books…. And I received Number 7 on your list, thank you!, for Christmas, and Joe provided me with When You Reach Me, under the recommendation of his “personal librarian.” (Thank you again.) Yay, books!

      • Replying to myself after Joe pointed out that When You Reach Me was not the book he gave me. It was a different one Hannah recommended, though….oops!

  2. I should have kept away from both of your lists, because now I’m second guessing my choices! I like how your list and Hannah’s overlap — and then complement one another. I have yet read the Lynch or Kingsolver, but I did love the Walter and Bauermeister.

    • I’d love to hear your choices, Linda. Spill it, Sister!


Leave a Reply

Categories

