Posted by: hannah jo | December 26, 2009

Hannah’s Top 9 Books of 2009

Why only nine? Because there are several books vying for spot #10 and I can’t decide on one just yet. I feel pretty solid about these nine, though. They’re listed in alphabetical order, by author’s last name.

  1. Face by Sherman Alexie
  2. Columbine by Dave Cullen
  3. Delicate Edible Birds: And Other Stories by Lauren Groff
  4. Chronic City by Jonathan Lethem
  5. The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart
  6. Border Songs by Jim Lynch
  7. Important Artifacts and Personal Property from the Collection of Lenore Doolan and Harold Morris, Including Books, Street Fashion, and Jewelry by Leanne Shapton
  8. When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead
  9. The Financial Lives of the Poets by Jess Walter

I like this list. It’s got a couple of novels, poetry, short stories, a children’s book, a YA book, and even a non-fiction work. My favorite book of the year was, hands-down, #7, which defies typical genre descriptions, and that’s the main reason why I liked it the most, I think.

Lori reads way more than I do. Care to share your favorite books read in 2009? Spill it, sister!

Also, I hope you, dear reader, will share your favorites, too, in the Comments section.

Responses

  1. My book reading was so pitiful this year. I read a lot of short stories so not all is lost but I’d really like to read more books, esp. new books, in 2010.

    My favorite books that I read in 09 are: The Doomsday Book by Connie Willis (published 92), Bridge of Sighs by Richard Russo (pub 07) and Maus I and II by Art Spiegelman (pub according to Wikipedia 72-91.)

    • Those are fine, fine books, Pamela. Bridge of Sighs was on my top ten list for 2007. I keep hoping that Andy will read it, but those vampire stories are more compelling, I guess.

  2. Hi Hanna Jo. Thanks very much for including my book, Columbine, on your list.

    I have not read Sherman Alexie’s latest yet, but will check it out. I loved “The Long Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven” (or something like that–I’m going from memory).

    • Hi Dave. Alexie published two books last year — Face was his book of poetry and War Dances was his book of short stories (with some poetry and other writing forms). I adored both. They both made me cry and laugh, but Face feels more personal to me, so I chose it for my list. War Dances is one of the contenders for spot #10. I continue to recommend your book to people constantly, especially people who think they don’t like non-fiction. They also find that they can’t put it down once they start reading it–especially if they’re parents of teens.

  3. You have more than 24 hours to fill that #10 spot! I’m pretty sure Financial Lives of Poets will be on my final 10, and When You Reach Me DEFINITELY is (if I don’t do it alpha order, it will be number 1). I’m only a quarter into Columbine. On the library waiting list for twoof your other top picks!

  4. Here are my top ten favorite books read in 2009:

    Revolutionary Road by Richard Yates
    The Financial Lives of the Poets by Jess Walter
    The Help by Kathryn Stockett
    When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead
    Stitches by David Small
    The Housekeeper and the Professor by Yoko Ogawa
    The Family Man by Elinor Lipman
    If I stay by Gayle Forman
    The Scarecrow by Michael Connelly
    Little Bee by Chris Cleave

    I’m surprised that I didn’t have nonfiction on there this year. The Oxford Project almost made it, but then I realized I’d forgotten Little Bee.


Leave a Reply

Categories

