Posted by: hannah jo | December 16, 2009

It’s That Time of Year

Yes, the holidays are upon us, and I’m creating endless lists of gifts to buy and cards to mail, but the lists I prefer to obsess over are:  1) year-end “best of” lists and 2) awards show nominations, such as the Golden Globes and Grammys. Also, some bonus list distractions:  the 2010 FIFA World Cup draw and yesterday’s announcement of new Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees (go Stooges!).

Naturally, I love the lists of best books of the year. Did you see the Time Magazine list of Top Ten Fiction Books? #2 is Jess Walter’s latest novel, The Financial Lives of the Poets. I loved that book and I also loved seeing the author in person last week at Third Place Books in Lake Forest Park. He read the entire first chapter out loud and Joe, Lori, and I busted our guts laughing, I swear. That first chapter is perfection. Hearing the author read it out loud was so much better than the voice in my head when I read it the first time. Plus, Mr. Walter was just all-around great at talking about his book, answering audience questions, and signing books. He and Sherman Alexie did an author event together in Spokane a couple of weekends ago. Why wasn’t I in Spokane THAT weekend?!

Some of the lists are “best of the decade” lists, covering 2000 thru 2009. Like this one, 100 Best Albums of the Decade, according to Rolling Stone. Yes, that’s Yankee Hotel Foxtrot by Wilco in spot #3! And another favorite of mine, Elephant, by the White Stripes, is at #5. Here’s Paste magazine’s list of the 50 Best Albums of the Decade. Well, look at that. Wilco comes in at #2 on this one and the White Stripes are at #6. Since the Paste list was published first, I think Rolling Stone COPIED AND CHEATED!

It is the holiday season, of course, and I have been one busy holiday elf. I took last week off of work so I could do a bunch of shopping, wrapping, and mailing and it was awesome. I beat the crowds and didn’t even have to wait in line at the post office. I have just one box left to mail, which is waiting by the back door right this minute. I will also be mailing the rest of my Christmas cards today. Whew.

We splurged and bought a gorgeous Noble Fir Christmas tree last weekend, from the Boy Scouts who sell their trees near Ballard Market every year. If you want super helpful and attentive service from the Boy Scouts when you’re shopping for Christmas trees, it helps to have a beautiful 12-year-old girl with you, let me tell you! If you are one of our Seattle friends, neighbors, or relatives, please feel free to stop by any time and check out our tree. I plan to do some baking next week, so we’ll happily stuff you full of cookies, too. So, really. Stop on by!

Leave a Reply

Categories

