Posted by: loripalooza | July 29, 2009

John and Kate

jon and kateAbout a month or so ago I started noticing that every time I turned on the computer to my homepage, or was standing in line at the grocery store filling my time and head with gossip-mag headlines, the names Jon and Kate kept showing up rather prominently.  They seem to be having some marital problems, and a lot of kids that eerily look to be about the same size, but that’s pretty much all I know about them.  Who are these people, I wondered (vaguely)?  And should I know about them (or care)?  Kate looks kind of tired.

A couple of years ago some new neighbors moved in across the street from us. Friendly Husband Joe made first contact, and told me the husband’s name was John.  But then he followed it with a comment that he totally reminded him of Adam Sandler. So every time I saw John, I could only think Adam, and would forget his real name.  Then later, I thought Joe told me the wife’s name was Sarah. So, I figured that would help me remember—like John and Sarah Connor, from the Terminator (although, okay, they were son and mother, not husband and wife, but still, same names). Then I found out the wife’s name is actually Kate, not Sarah.  Foiled again!

Despite the onslaught of Tabloid Jon & Kate, I have not been curious enough to actually read an article about them, nor click on a link for their story.  In fact, it’s had the opposite effect, and I am intentionally not finding out about them.  Such a rebel!  But at least now I have no trouble remembering the not-so new-neighbors’ names.

Responses

  1. You are so lucky to be unaware of this couple and their many trials and tribulations. Lily is obsessed with this family, via TV shows on DVD checked out from the library, because of the cute kids. She is tired of me constantly saying, “You know that both of those parents are awful people, don’t you? They’re exploiting their children and robbing them of their privacy.” I’m sure I sound just like one of the adults in the Peanuts cartoons, though, and all she hears is “Wah, wah, wah, wah, wah.”


Leave a Reply

Categories

