Posted by: hannah jo | May 31, 2009

What day is this?

Several times each day, I realize that I have no idea what day it is. I might guess correctly, I might be close, but I really don’t know. I think it’s because I haven’t adjusted to my new work schedule, which is a wonderful schedule in terms of fitting in with my family’s schedules, but pretty funky when you look at it on paper. I haven’t hit a rhythm yet and somehow, our house and yard are in even worse shape than when I was working full-time. There are piles of stuff that need attention everywhere I look.

But, even though I haven’t been effective in the usual ways, I have given myself permission to do a few non-essential things. As many of you know, I dyed my hair red. I did it a few weeks ago, but it’s still getting lots of comments and, frankly, looks of horror and suppressed nastiness from some people. Whatever. I like it and am already trying to figure out what to do to it next. The only drawback has been that it’s made getting dressed a little more complicated because it clashes so badly with one of my wardrobe staples — fuchsia.

I spent one day shopping for new clothes. That’s another thing I almost never do. I hate shopping, hate it, hate it, hate it, but I do need some new clothes so I actually went to Nordstrom on the first day of their recent sale and bought some stuff. Again, the hair color made it a little challenging, as did the effort involved in trying on dozens of items before finding even a few that fit well. Maybe I’m the most delusional person on the planet, but I am extremely puzzled about why I don’t fit into most Medium-sized women’s clothes. I’m not THAT big, am I? I look at the Larges and think, really? Do I qualify as Large? I suppose I do, but, whoa, what size are the women I know who are much larger than me (and, honestly, look just fine to me)? If I’m Large, what are they?

I’ve read more. I’ve spent time with friends. I’ve spent more time with Lily. I’ve cooked. I’ve baked. I’ve been in much closer contact with my siblings and other relatives. I’ve enjoyed not feeling the work pressure that used to suck the life out of me each day. But, to be honest, I really do need to get a handle on some practical stuff. You know, like what day it is.

Responses

  1. I haven’t even seen the new short-do yet, and now it’s red!!! We need to get together, sister!

  2. What!?!? No photo? I MUST see this red hair.

  3. Honestly, it’s no big deal. There are no photos yet, although I think some people took photos of me at a party this weekend because I was wearing my “I’m a librarian. Don’t make me shush your ass.” t-shirt. My hair has already grown a lot and the color has calmed down. I think I’m ready for it to be shorter and redder.

  4. Your hair looks BEAUTIFUL! As for shopping and sizes, you gotta go to the cheaper places to get some of the vanity size action. Gap and Old Navy (and Banana, although it’s not cheap to me) make it so that you can gain ten pounds in one year and be a size smaller. It angers me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

