Posted by: hannah jo | May 27, 2009

Day 2 of the week of Hannah posts

I know that posting on your own (shared) blog once a day for one week doesn’t sound like a big deal. It’s a puny commitment in the grand scheme of things, isn’t it? Oh, just open up the WordPress program and tell everyone what you ate for dinner, Hannah. Then click on Publish and call it good. For some reason, though, it’s tougher than that for me. I am a horribly slow writer. I am a fast typist, but a slow writer. I also have that big e-mail aversion thing going on, which is related to the blog posting thing. Lots of angst over so little. I KNOW.

Today, I was going to write about my neighborhood because I feel so lucky to live on this little block in Ballard near wonderful people, but I’m not feeling focused enough at the moment. I don’t know if I could do the topic justice. So, instead, I’ll take cover in my favorite cop-out style of post — the random post that includes a few unrelated thoughts.

200px-The_Essential_JourneyNumber 1:  Lily and I have been listening to Journey a lot the last couple of days. Really. Journey. I told my friend Rod that I checked out The Essential Journey from the library and he said, “What is it? A blank disc?” Oh, hardee har har. I would have said something similar, though less witty, a year ago. I was never a Journey fan in high school or college. I don’t think I spent as much time disliking them as I did, say, REO Speedwagon, but I never would have chosen to listen to them. But, when Don’t Stop Believin’ was used as the last song on the final episode of The Sopranos, it made a big impression on me. Likewise, when it was the song that Seattle residents spontaneously danced to in the streets when Obama won, I felt it worming its way into my good graces. Thus, Lily and I have listened to that song an embarrassing number of times, because it is just so much fun to sing along to. Coming in at a close second: Lovin’, Touchin’, Squeezin’. It appears that the key to an excellent Journey song is to drop that last “g”. And to sing along very loudly.

bad_motherNumber 2: I just finished reading Ayelet Waldman’s Bad Mother: A Chronicle of Maternal Crimes, Minor Calamities, and Occasional Moments of Grace. It’s a memoir about raising four kids with her fabulous husband Michael Chabon, written in the form of 18 essays. I zoomed through the book, enjoying most of it. Ms. Waldman is refreshingly honest about the not-so-fun aspects of raising children and about the challenges she’s faced, including bipolar disorder and appearing on The Oprah Winfrey Show to defend her statement that she loved her husband more than her children. I have read a few of her novels, but am most fond of the online booklog she periodically updates on her web site, listing the books she’s read (a ton!) and micro-mini-reviews. For example, here’s her review of Sophie’s Choice by William Styron: “The first half is the best novel ever written. The second half kind of sucks.”

Number 3: Peter Miller has written another excellent article for Crosscut.com about the Seattle Sounders FC. Did you see either of the last two games on television? (No cable necessary!) Andy and I watched them and were relieved that the Sounders tied those games, rather than lost them, but we were disheartened by the poor quality of play. The Sounders were missing several key players because of injuries, illness, and cards, so had a substitute midfield, basically, but it was still tough to watch. A word of warning to you — if you ever come to our house to watch a soccer match on TV with us, we yell at the TV. A lot. And, we’re sometimes not nice. Okay, we swear. Mostly it’s me. But not if Lily is around. No way. If I even say the word “crap” around her, she gets bent out of shape. “Mom, stop swearing!!” Who is this child?

Responses

  1. I saw the pre leadsingerwiththegirlievoice Journey open for Lynyrd Skynyrd at the Coliseum in 1976. The two things that I remember most were the guitar player’s hair and the keyboard player’s shoes. The (caucasian, I think) lead guitar player had a full on Billy Preston style afro. The organ player had really tall platform shoes (so his short little legs could reach the peddles?). I don’t remember what they sounded like but they’d clearly hadn’t hit upon the Lovin, Touchin, Squeezin’ formula yet.

  2. Neal Schon did have really big hair! Journey was my favorite band in high school. My first concert was Journey at the Ventura County Fairgrounds. Boy, that would be a good blogpost if I was up for it. I’m going to listen to a little “Who’s Cryin Now” this weekend.

  3. I, too, saw pre-Steve Perry Journey perform live. In my case it was 1975 or so, opening for Bachman-Turner Overdrive at Indians Stadium in Spokane. Not good – not good at all. By way of comparison, BTO kicked their butts.

    For the record, I believe there are exactly three Journey songs worth owning (“Don’t Stop Believing,” Wheel in the Sky,” and “Loving, Touching, Squeezing”), and those only as guilty pleasures. Really, really guilty pleasures.


Leave a Reply

Categories

