Posted by: hannah jo | February 27, 2009

Best Oscars Speech

I saw just part of the Oscars show this year, which is a true indicator of the absolute craziness of my life right now because usually I am planted in front of the TV from beginning to end, no matter how long or boring or ridiculously self-indulgent the show is. I’ll share more about why I missed part of the Oscars later, but for now, I want to revisit a speech that I thought was just lovely.

My favorite speech last year was given in response to receiving the same award — Best Original Song. Last year, it was Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova, who encouraged us to “make art!” This year, it was A. R. Rahman, who won for Jai Ho from Slumdog Millionaire, talking about love:

“I just want to thank again the whole crew of Slumdog Millionaire, especially Danny Boyle for giving such a great opportunity. And the whole, all the people from Mumbai. The essence of the film which is about optimism and the power of hope in our lives, and all my life I had a choice of hate and love. I chose love and I’m here. God bless.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

