Posted by: loripalooza | January 29, 2009

The Road – Stunning, Savage Beauty

mv5bmtiymdc1ndmzmf5bml5banbnxkftztcwotcyntu4mq_v1_cr990400400_ss90_ I was very excited to see Cormac McCarthy’s book recently, The Road, with a sticker on it that said  “soon to be a major motion picture.”  Joe and I were first introduced to this book by Hannah, (everybody say, a tad sardonically perhaps, “what a surprise” together, okay?)  He blazed through it first, then I grabbed it out of his clutching hands before the cover whumped shut.  Have you read it?  I like that the reviewer says the book would be “pure misery, if not for its stunning, savage beauty.”

I don’t know why but I really enjoy a good post-apocalyptic book or movie now and then, and can’t wait to see if the movie matches up to the very dark images conjured up in my wildly imaginative brain.  Some books I read I try to picture who would be good as a particular character in a movie, as it helps me have a more solid image of them.  Viggo Mortenson will be perfect! Speaking of stunning, savage beauty….the man should live his life in sepia.images And as an extra bonus, Nick Cave is part of the duo composing the music!  Yes!!  So, what do we have? Cormac McCarthy’s book adaptation, Viggo Mortenson as the lead role, and Nick Cave on the music.  What’s that smell? Next year’s Oscar nominees?

Leave a Reply

Categories

