Posted by: hannah jo | December 29, 2008

Don’t stop believin’

My husband is not a New Year’s person. He prefers to go to bed before midnight (well before midnight) and wake up on January 1st and have his cereal and coffee and read the paper just as if it were any other day.

I, however, love New Year’s. I love reflecting back on the previous year — what were the best books, movies, concerts, and events? I love looking forward to the coming year and imagining what’s possible. I actually like making resolutions.

I know 2008 has had more than its fair share of incredibly sucky moments — nationally, internationally, locally, personally, professionally, and just about any other way I can think of. But, it also had this. So, you know what? 2008 ruled.

Happy New Year, Internet. Don’t stop believin’.

Responses

  1. I’m in between.

    I like to go to bed early so I can be up early on the first day of the new year. Then I do my reflecting.

  2. I don’t think I’ve ever been as excited as I am this year for a NEW year. I’m with you about 2008 in the suckiness department; quite possibly the worst ever for me. BUT November helped the year turn the corner, and then it will be 2009 when the nonstop dancing gets going for me.
    Also, can’t wait to see your top ten book list of the year. I have seven for-sures. Happy NEW year, friend! (P.S. YOU were one of the good things in 2008! You and President Obama ….)

  3. Can you link audio files to your posts? This really needs the Journey tune for this 70’s guy …

    “Just a small town girl, livin in a lonely world
    She took the midnight train goin anywhere”


Leave a Reply

Categories

