Posted by: hannah jo | December 16, 2008

The Wire lives up to the hype

wire-laptop1I had heard from David and others that the cable TV show The Wire was good. I knew that critics practically peed their pants when writing about it because they loved it so much. But, I had never seen it, so I thought the praise might be just a bunch of empty buzz about yet another cop show. Now that I’ve finished watching the first two seasons on DVD, I have to say that it definitely lives up to the hype.

As Pam has mentioned before, and I’ve repeated a zillion times, TV shows on DVD are the new crack. I easily could have stayed up all night and into the next day watching each season if I hadn’t had to go to work or take Lily to school. I would have loved the chance to sit and watch every single episode without taking any breaks. I still have seasons 3 through 5 left, though, so maybe I’ll get the chance with one of those!

The Wire is set in Baltimore and focuses on a group of drug dealers and a group of cops who are all part of The Game. It’s violent, profane, and gritty. The good guys are sometimes bad guys and the bad guys are also sometimes good. One of my favorite characters is a guy who kills and steals from drug dealers. He’s completely fascinating and has one of the most interesting faces I’ve ever seen. He’s also gay. Just thinking about him — his name is Omar — gets me all excited about the show because he’s such a perfect example of why this show is so good — he’s complicated, unpredictable, wounded, intelligent, independent, and also funny.

The show has multiple story lines and they weave together beautifully. Poor Andy. When we’re watching The Wire, he has to tolerate my frequent outbursts of “I LOVE THIS SHOW!” or “THIS SHOW IS SO GOOD!” (Yes, I say it in ALL CAPS.) The swearing is awesome. Kima, the lesbian cop, is totally hot. The people who work together and hate each other’s guts get to say it out loud, which makes me insanely jealous. The kids selling the drugs have the sweetest baby faces you’ve ever seen. The show pummels your heart. Watch out if you fall for someone because he or she just might die in the next episode.

I’m trying to wait patiently for the next three seasons to come in at the library. At least I can get some other things done at night now. I guess it’s time to start getting ready for Christmas. I hear it’s coming up soon.

Responses

  1. So glad you found THE WIRE. I loved the first 2 seasons, but had to take a break. Need my next crack fix soon, I expect. All I ask is no spoilers!

  2. I’ve only seen the first season but I’m hooked. The main players are so interesting and fleshed out, especially for a television show.

    I totally agree with your take on Omar. I found myself wanting him to show up in each episode. His character is truly memorable.

  3. This from Tim Goodman’s (SF Chron) end of year TV wrap up:

    Great performances Vol. 5: For all the actors – from the top billed to the most minor – who ever graced a scene or episode of television’s greatest series, “The Wire,” here’s to you. The Emmys never noticed. But those of us who watched sure did. Uncommonly brilliant in range and depth, anybody who said a line in “The Wire” should be proud.


Leave a Reply

Categories

