Posted by: hannah jo | August 7, 2008

5-minute post

Okay, let’s see how much I can tell you in 5 minutes. Because in 5 minutes, I have to walk the dog and do lots of other stuff.

I was trying to find a good radio station on the car radio the other night and I encountered a station that actually created a set of music that consisted solely of songs that had the word “with” in the title. Really. The word “with”. Maybe they had already exhausted all of the songs that had “the” in the title. As a former DJ (or “on-air personality,” which was really my job title once, if you can believe it), I was simply stupefied. That was the best they could do? With???

We hosted our annual Neighborhood Night Out event on Tuesday night and it was fabulous. We had a huge turnout, lots of great food, and excellent weather. When I overheard someone introducing himself to someone else by saying, “Hi, I think I’m your next-door neighbor, but we’ve never met before,” I got tears in my eyes. This is what this event is all about. Making sure everyone meets each other, gets to know each other, and is invested in looking out for one another. Lily and Andy did a crazy amount of work to get ready for it while I worked my hiney off at my two little libraries. My lovely neighbor Bobbi also helped a great deal. It was an awesome evening.

The past couple of weeks have been full of the weirdest, wildest work adventures ever. But, I’m not going to tell you about any of it because one of our two blog rules (totally made up by me — thanks for putting up with them, Lori) is that I won’t ever post anything up here that could cause me to lose my job. So, ’nuff said about that.

Andy and I watched Snow Cake one night. Alan Rickman is the best. What a voice. What a face.

I’m reading Free for All: Oddballs, Geeks, and Gangstas in the Public Library. The author, Don Borchert, works at a public library and describes the day-in/day-out realities of working there. His voice reminds me of my father and makes me miss him terribly. I can relate to every single story Mr. Borchert tells. I can’t wait for Andy to read it so he can get an even better sense of what it’s like to work in the library world.

Okay, time’s up. Hope I didn’t spell anything wrong!

Responses

  1. I really liked Snow Cake. I thought Sigourney Weaver was pretty darn wonderful in it, too (and it seems ages since I saw her in something good). I particularly love books and movies where sincere friendships arise in unlikely ways.

  2. I appreciate your kind words concerning Free for All.


Leave a Reply

Categories

