Posted by: loripalooza | July 8, 2008

Funk-be-Gone

I was in a bit of a funk yesterday, for assorted reasons, or maybe no reason at all, which is why it’s a funk dammit!; more than a bad day, less than depressed, just a big, fat, pouty, pity-party for the palooza. Like, I cried at the Where the Hell is Matt video, okay? But, I decided to banish the funk by watching the latest addition to our somewhat meager DVD collection, Rumble Fish, a sort of art-film for teenagers, which I missed somehow back in the Eighties. To be honest, I thought it was pretty awful, but I loved the time-lapse and black and white photography and seeing all the young versions of people we all know so well: Matt Dillon, Tom Waits, Diane Lane, Dennis Hopper, Laurence Fishburne, Nicolas Cage (the hair!), and my throbbing weakness, Mickey Rourke. When he first rides onto the screen as The Motorcycle Boy, and the camera zooms in on his smirky-smiling face, I let out a little “oh!” and was officially funk-free! This was Back In the Day, whereas now, when you Google the poor guy the first link that shows up is crapplasticsurgery.com. (Don’t go there, my friend. I didn’t link you up on purpose, okay? Trust me.) But young Mickey, and perhaps some salty snacks, served to get me out of that almost-dark place, and today I was thinking of other things lately that have made me smile, to further fortify me against returning to the dark side:

*A sign in a daycare window “NCPS is a peanut/nut free school.”

*Circus Contraption show last Thursday in baking hot spot in Fremont. These guys are wack-full of talent!

*Making up new words. See above.

*Using the restroom at our friends’ house on the Fourth of July to discover their huge white fluff-ball of a Samoyed dog in a happy, sedated sleep. In the bath tub.

*Scooter Insanity ride on Saturday from Fremont to Woodinville with about a hundred other scooters! And this guy’s cool Mod shoes (we missed the Mods vs. Rockers party, but I don’t know if I could decide which to be, anyway. Unless I had those shoes…):

*New tube of chocolate lip balm from Theo’s Chocolates. I smell chocolate all day, my lips are slightly tinted, and it doesn’t look like I have chocolate smeared across my face, which was my greatest concern.

*Frambois Lambic float: glass of yummy cold delicious raspberry heaven with two scoops of vanilla ice cream that you have spoon/sword fights over with your son.

*Hellboy II opens up on Friday! Black and red–my favorites! I’m a sucker for black leather pants, what can I say?

Responses

  1. Now I’m all smiley, too.
    The chocolate lip balm is a very good thing…

  2. Diane Lane in Catholic schoolgirl attire … giggity giggity!

  3. DIANE LANE is STILL awesome!

  4. Okay, two things:

    1) that video makes me cry, too, but in a good way.

    2) I thought that photo of Mickey Rourke was a photo of your son.


Leave a Reply

Categories

