Posted by: loripalooza | April 7, 2008

Not Quite What I Was Planning

Hannah was my pusher of all things great long before she became an official pusher, or as she likes to call it, a librarian.  Books, movies, music–she simply has the knack for knowing what I’ll like, and even better (or worse, I haven’t yet decided) she knows what will inspire me.  So, when her latest lend fell into my hands yesterday afternoon, (and as luck would have it I had just finished a book, Michael Chabon’s The Yiddish Policeman’s Union, which Joe loved and I liked, but not as much as The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay–so much Yiddish for a goyim like me!) it was no surprise I gobbled it right up, and now here I am spitting it back out at you!

The book, Not Quite What I Was Planning, Six-Word Memoirs by Writers Famous and Obscure is a result of a project started by SMITH magazine, and is just what the title says.  I kept a piece of blank scratch paper as a bookmark while I read with the intent of coming up with my own six-word memoir, but by the time I was finished I had six…what might yours be?

Haven’t been hit by lightning yet.

Can’t you be perfect?  Like me?

Six pregnancies.  One baby.  Sad insides.

Laugh in silent situations.  Often.  Loud.

Caught scribbling on inside of closet.

Daddy’s girl:  I strive to please.

 

Responses

  1. I wish I could write short.


Leave a Reply

Categories

