Posted by: hannah jo | April 6, 2008

Currently Enjoying

amazing journey

Lovely Lori has been doing all of the heavy lifting here while I’ve been doing lord knows what. Thank you, Lori! (I’m still debating whether to go to the big book sale, by the way. I’m not sure we can fit one more book in our house. Maybe if we get rid of the fridge?)

Here are some of my favorite diversions at the moment. You might enjoy them, too. You can check most of them out from the library for free, like I did.

Amazing Journey: The Story of The Who (DVD)

I thought I knew a thing or two about The Who. Nope. I didn’t. Now I do, thanks to this DVD (which I still haven’t finished — it’s two discs long). Interviews with Pete and Roger, separately, clarify how badly they clashed in the early days. Incredible footage from concert performances and recording sessions. Some unnecessary interviews with that dope from Oasis. But, all in all, it is just like the title says: AMAZING.

Music from the Motion Picture “The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford” by Nick Cave and Warren Ellis (CD)

Andy saw this movie and mentioned that he enjoyed the music, so I tracked down the soundtrack at our library. I love Nick Cave, so I figured I would enjoy this CD, but I had no idea that the entire CD is instrumental. Surprise, surprise, I love it! Very moody and pensive and just the perfect music to have on while typing away on your computer. Love it.

I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith (book)

I know so many people who practically melt when they talk about this book that I figured I’d better finally read it and see what all the fuss is about. It was originally published in the 1940s and then was reprinted a few years ago. The narrator is Cassandra Mortmain, a 17-year-old girl who lives in a castle in England with a quirky family, and she’s irresistible. Great voice, charming story, and safe to recommend to anybody. I already know lots of people I can suggest this book to, without having to warn them about any “sensitive” parts. I can’t think of many books I’ve read as an adult that I can say that about.  

Emerald Valley Organic Mild Salsa

Finally, mild doesn’t mean bland. This salsa, which I bought last week at Ballard Market, comes from Oregon, but tastes nice and fresh. I inhaled an entire container of it this week. I usually avoid anything that has the word cilantro associated with it because I am one of those weirdos who despises cilantro, but this salsa is not overpowered by it, thank goodness. It does have a lot of garlic, though, which probably trumps the cilantro taste. Thank goodness I was the loser who brought chips and salsa to the book cart drill team meeting last Sunday. I discovered a new salsa I wouldn’t have tried otherwise. Lily is the one who chose it, actually, so thank you, Lily!

Responses

  1. Thanks for all the great recommendations! I’ll be visiting the states soon and plan to load up my suitcase with books, books, books and plenty of aural treats before returning to Italy. This is my first visit to your blog. I’ll be back; looks like you are having fun here. 🙂

    ~Tui

  2. Emerald Valley is the item that is *always* in my fridge. It is sometimes used for chips but mostly to top any remotely “Mexican” type meal. I also use it as salad dressing, spoon it on top of my soup and last night I scraped the last few bits into my paella.

  3. I must try this salsa. I was just reading a book where a couple bond over Nick Cave. I read a book a day last week (vacation; not trying to be a show-off; and, they were short) and they are all running together …

  4. Be sure to rent the Jesse James movie. Some will love it some will rather watch glue bubbles dry. How to describe? Bergman meets Mallick meets Peckinpah. I loved it, and the soundtrack was a great component of it. Zoey Deschanel’s bubble dance wasn’t bad either.


Leave a Reply

Categories

