Posted by: loripalooza | February 16, 2008

Borrowed Book Blues

I’ve got the borrowed book blues, baby,
they’ve been starin’ at me all day long.
I’ve got the borrowed book blues, baby,
Lord, help my readin’ eyes be strong.

My best friend she’s a librarian
perusin’ books throughout the day.
She shares with me her favorites
in a foot-high stack they lay.

She always says to take my time
but the borrowed ones take priority.
My own books are tossed aside
I gobble hers down like candy.

I always strip them of their cover
don’t want to dirty their pretty face.
I turn each page with gentle care
of me there’s not a trace.

At night I might toss and turn
the weight of debt on my mind.
I know I’ve got to give them back
I’m running out of time.

I know I sound a bit obsessed
I confess to feeling shame
but once those books aren’t on my shelf
will I remember their names?

I’ve got the borrowed book blues, baby,
they’ve been starin’ at me all day long.
I’ve got the borrowed book blues, baby,
Lord, help my readin’ eyes be strong.

Leave a Reply

Categories

